Congress wins Madhya Pradesh, BJD wins Odisha


The Congress has retained the Mungaoli and Kolaras Assembly seats in Madhya Pradesh. In Odisha, Naveen Patnaik’s Biju Janata Dal won the Bijepur Assembly bypolls. This is a big blow to the Bharatiya Janata Party which had campaigned aggressively in both the states.

The results of the by-elections in these two crucial states are a proof of rapid decline in the saffron party’s popularity. Together, Odisha, Madhya Pradesh and Rajasthan account for 75 Lok Sabha seats.

While the Congress’ Brijendra Singh Yadav defeated his BJP rival by a margin of 2,124 votes in Mungaoli, Mahendra Singh Yadav defeated the BJP’s Devendra Jain in Kolaras by 8,083 votes. The Congress had won Mungaoli and Kolaras seats by margins of 20,765 and 24,953 seats respectively in the previous elections.

In Madhya Pradesh, this is the second major victory for the Congress.  Mr Chouhan claimed that the absence of the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) in both the seats had helped the Congress.

“BSP usually garners 30,000-35,000 votes in each constituency. The victory margins of Congress in both the seats demonstrate that the party had gained by the absence of BSP in the by-elections”, he said. He claimed that the by-elections would not have any impact on the upcoming Assembly elections.