EC confirms dates for Telangana elections and other states


The Election Commission on Saturday announced the schedule for Assembly elections in five states, including Telangana, to be held between November 12 and December 7.

In continuation to election dates announcement, EC chief O.P Rawat also said that the results of election will commence on December 11 for all the states and will be declared on the same day

Election in Telangana is scheduled on December 7th while counting and declaration of majority will happen on December 11th

States sharing the Election season along with Telangana are Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh

The Model Code of Conduct being implemented with immediate effect in four states while in Telangana it was in force from the date of dissolution of the Assembly last month.

It should be noted that nearly nine months ahead Assembly election in summer 2019, Telangana Government dissolved its assembly and called upon early election in a strategy to differentiate state development with central election campaign